Appetite For Destruction (1987)


Appetite For Destruction cover

Released: July 21, 1987 (USA)

Buy on iTunes

Produced and engineered by Mike Clink

Mixed by Steve Thompson and Michael Barbiero

2nd engineers: Andy Udoff, Micajah Ryan, Jeff Poe, Julian Stoll, Dave Reitzas, Victor "the fuckin' engineer" Deyglio

Recorded at: Rumbo Studios, Take One Studio, Can Am Studio

Original cover painting: Robert Williams



  • "Appetite For Destruction" reached #1 on the Billboard charts on the 23rd of July 1988.
  • Charted #1 for five weeks in USA.
  • UK chart peak #5.
  • GN'R were presented with the Diamond Award from the RIAA, commemorating the sales of 15 million copies of "Appetite For Destruction" in USA on March 16th 1999.
  • The original cover art by Robert Williams was banned.
  • Greatest Guitar Album Ever - Total Guitar June 2003
  • Greatest Metal Album - Spin magazine July 2003
  • #1 on HMV, Metal Hammer and Classic Rock Poll October, 2002
  • #1 in the Hard Rock category in Kerrang!'s 110 Essestial Albums list, March, 2004.
  • #3 on MTV2's 22 Greatest CDs December, 2003
  • #9 on Channel 4's (UK) The 100 Greatest Albums April, 2005
  • #30 on USA Today's Top 40 Albums December, 2003
  • #61 on Rolling Stone's The 500 Greatest Albums November, 2003
  • Q magazine's 20 Albums That You Should Own October, 2006
  • Includes three US Top 10 singles "Sweet Child O' Mine" (#1), "Welcome To The Jungle" (#7) and "Paradise City" (#5).
  • Originally supposed to be recorded by Bill Price at Wessex, in London, UK.
  Lyrics / Track info:  

Welcome To The Jungle [s] [v]

It's So Easy [s]

Nightrain [s]

Out Ta Get Me

Mr. Brownstone

Paradise City [s] [v]

My Michelle

Think About You

Sweet Child O' Mine [s] [v]

You're Crazy

Anything Goes

Rocket Queen

    [s] = single [v] = video  

"With your bitch slap rappin' and your cocaine tongue you get nothin' done"  

Back to History! Back to albums!
Copyright © 1996 - 2007 Jarmo Luukkonen