>> BackGuns N' Roses news: 

September 4th, 2003
VELVET REVOLVER Record New Music, Drummer SORUM Prepares To Issue Solo Debut
VELVET REVOLVER, the new band featuring GUNS N' ROSES alumni Slash, Duff McKagan and Matt Sorum, David Kushner of SUICIDAL TENDENCIES and former STONE TEMPLE PILOTS frontman Scott Weiland, entered a Los Angeles studio earlier this week to record one song with producer Josh Abraham (STAIND, ORGY, POWERMAN 5000). The group have yet to finalize the producer for their forthcoming debut album, tentatively due in February 2004 through RCA Records.

In related news, more information has surfaced regarding the upcoming solo debut from Sorum, titled "Hollywood Zen". The CD, which has been two years in the making, will be issued the first week of October through Drac Records/Sixthman/Warner Bros. and will be available through Matt's about-to-be-launched official web site, MattSorum.com. The first 1,000 copies will be signed by Sorum, who played guitar and piano, sang all lead vocals and (naturally) laid down all the drum tracks on the effort.

The complete track listing for "Hollywood Zen" is as follows:

01. Forgiving Kind
02. Hallucination Lullaby
03. Brand New Obscene
04. Blame Game
05. Sunset Blvd.
06. Viva La Rock
07. 3% Solution
08. Scar Baby
09. Circus Of The Sun
10. Suicide Mission
11. Confession

Matt had previously described the music on the CD as "very different from [my previous band] THE CULT. Think BOWIE meets IGGY meets LOU REED. . . I would consider it a cross between old school rock and modern bands. I have elements of PRIMAL SCREAM, some techno mixed in, also some tribal stuff. I also have a lot of drums on that. It was the most fun I've had making a drum record. I rented out an analog studio and brought almost all of my drums down there. I was able to have total freedom because it's my record [laughs]." Making a guest appearance on the CD is former QUIET RIOT/HOUSE OF LORDS bassist Chuck Wright, who assisted with the CD graphic art and layout for the album. Sorum reportedly intends to support the CD with a solo tour.

Source(s): http://www.roadrun.com/blabbermouth.net  
Thanks to: Andreas 
>> BackNews index

Share on Facebook Share on Facebook